Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:21 a.m. - 2007-11-22
The Late Great Johnny Ace
Music and Lyrics by Paul Simon

Abmaj7 |D7 |Abmaj7 |D7 |


Abmaj7 |D7
I was reading a magazine

Abmaj7 |D7
And thinking of a rock and roll song

Abmaj7 |D7
The year was nineteen fiftyfour

|G |G7
And I hadn't been playing that long

|C F/C |C C7
When a man came on the radio

|F Gm7 F/A| |
And this is what he said

Am7 |Dm |E
He said I hate to break it to his fans

|Am7 |F |Am |Dm |
But Johnny Ace is dead, yeah, yeah, yeah


G |Abmaj7
Well, I really wasn't

|D7
Such a Johnny Ace fan

|Abmaj7 |D
But I felt bad alI the same

|Abmaj7 |D
So I sent away for his photograph

|G |G7
And I waited till it came

|C F/C |C C7
It came all the way from Texas

|F Gm7 F/A| |
With a sad and sim-ple face

Am7 |Dm |E
And they signed it on the bottom

|Am7 |F |Am |Dm |G |C | | |
From the Late Great Johnny Ace, yeah, yeah, yeah


|
It was the year of The Beatles

|
It was the year of The Stones

| | |
It was nineteen sixtyfour

| Bb/D Fm
I was living in London

Eb |C B Bb Am| |Fm |C
With the girl from the summer be-fore


|
It was the year of The Beatles

|
It was the year of The Stones

| | |
A year after J.F.K.

| Bb/D Fm Eb
We were staying up all night

|C B Bb G|F |
And giving the days a-way


|Ebmaj7 Abmaj7 |Eb
And the music was flowing amazing

Bb7-9 |Abmaj7 |D7 |Abmaj |
And blowing my way


D7 |Abmaj7 |D7
On a cold December evening

|Abmaj7 |D7
I was walking through the Christmas tide

|Abmaj7 |D7
When a stranger came up and asked me

|G |G7
If I'd heard John Lennon had died

|C F/C |C C7
And the two of us went to this bar

|F Gm7 F/A| |
And we stayed to close the place

Am7 |Dm |E
And every song we played

|Am7 |F |Am |Dm7 |G |
Was for The Late Great Johnny Ace, yeah, yeah, yeah


Am/E | |Bb/F | |


Am/E | |Bb/F | |


Am/E | |Bb | Bbm/Db|


Am/E | |Bb | Bbm/Db|


Am/E | |Bb/F |Bbm/Db |


Am/E | |Bb/F |Bbm/Db |


Am/E | | | |


Am/E | | | |

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Site Meter